Irish Supper

Yesterday was my husband’s 28th birthday.  Unfortunately he is working nights and we couldn’t do anything special.  He did ask me if I could cook for him and his crew tonight for a special supper.  So that is today’s project.

Last weekend we went to visit Terry’s sister in Niceville, FL.  While there my sister-in-law and her husband brought us to McGuire’s Irish Pub. We didn’t know what to expect but it was absolutely delicious!  Two of our favorite things there was the .18 cent Senate bean soup and the Irish Boxties.  So that is what I’ve decided to make for this evening.

mcguires

 

 

 

I found a copy cat recipe online for the soup and gave it a try this morning.  Other than trying to find a ham bone (which I substituted for ham hocks) this is a pretty easy recipe.  I’m not much on following recipes completely, so here is my take on it.

Senate Bean Soup

Ingredients:

1 lb dried navy beans

4 pints of water (I just eye balled this.  I also used chicken stock to liven it up a bit)

2 bay leaves

1 ham bone (I really liked the ham hocks instead)

1 white onion

2 stalks celery

2 carrots peeled

salt, pepper, onion powder, garlic powder

 

106

First you need to soak the beans in 4 pints of water overnight in a covered pot

109 111

Next dice up onion, carrots and celery and saute in a little oil until they become tender.  Once that happens add ham hock and chicken stock.  Add in the beans along with enough water to cover them and 2 extra inches on top of that.  119

Throw in bay leaves, salt, pepper, garlic powder and onion powder.  I don’t really add these in exact measurements, more to taste.  I preferred using fresh cracked pepper for an extra bite.

Let the soup get to a rolling boil then turn down to simmer.  Cover for at least 2 hours.  I basically have let it cook all day and the longer it sits the better it gets.  Once the soup is done remove the ham hocks.  Take off all of the meat,shred it, and add back to the soup.

image

The final product came out great!  I did a trial run on the boxties as well which came out pretty good.  I will leave that recipe for another day though.  We will see what the crew has to say when I bring it to them tonight after the game.

One thought on “Irish Supper

Leave a Reply

