Day 5: Movie Review

Since I am poor as a church mouse these days there isn’t many dates or movie nights going on at the Collins’ Residence.  However working at a high school has its perks in learning about new technology and even better movie sites.  The kids have given me a few places to watch movies so we have stay in date nights here lately with dinner and a movie.  The last movie we watched and the one I will review today is Inside Out. 

inside-out_banner

I am always down for a Disney movie especially the ones with Pixar.  This story basically is about our emotions and how they work together to become the personality of a young girl named Riley.  Riley is uprooted from Minnesota to San Francisco and has to learn how to cope.  Joy the leader of the emotions tries to keep everything perfect but in reality that now how things work.  When Joy and Sadness are lost in Riley’s brain it is up to Fear, Disgust and Anger to run Riley’s emotions.  While trying to return to headquarters Joy and Sadness encounter many different parts of Riley’s brain.  There is the dream factory that is set up like a Hollywood sound stage, memory erasers that get rid of useless information but love to replay jingles from commercials, and even Riley’s imaginary friend Bing Bong.

who's your friend who loves to play Bing Bong, Bing Bong
who’s your friend who loves to play Bing Bong, Bing Bong

In my opinion like many of Pixar’s more recent films there was a lot of adult themes in humor in this movie.  There is fun stuff for the kiddos but there were a lot more serious things that happened that left me thinking after seeing this movie.  Terry thought it was hilarious to compare me to the Sadness character the entire time we watched the movie.  There were times when I had to laugh myself when she said things I know I have said before when complaining about life.  Terry is more like the Joy character which is funny because these two get lots of interaction in the story.  Actually their interactions are very similar to those that Terry and I have on a regular basis.

InsideOut

All in all I really liked this movie and I would recommend it to any of my friends.  I think younger kids may be a little bored by it but a little older audience would love the message.  **** four stars from me.

Inside-Out-Voices-InsideOut

Leave a Reply

