Day 8 : #1 on the Bucket List

My bucket list is pretty long.  I don’t know about you people but there are a lot of things I want out of this life; Own my home, buy a boat, take an RV road trip, see shows on broadway.  I could go on for days.  There are lots of places I would like to travel to on my list as well but the thing that beats out everything else for me is to do a culinary tour of Italy.  This may make me sound like a serious fatty but I love Italian food.  What other place could you possibly go to experience Italian food in its most authentic forms.

There are so many places I could go but these would be my top spots:

1.  Amalfi Coast – SEAFOOD.  That’s all you need to say and I’m in.  The Amalfi Coast is off the Mediterranean and is known as a fishing village.  There are lots of fresh catches to feast on that will no doubt be covered in the most perfect lemon juice known to man since they are also a big provider of.   My dream dish for there is Seafood Cioppino.  Crab, shrimp, scallops, tomato broth….yum

Seafood Cioppino
Seafood Cioppino

2. Tuscany – Who doesn’t want to be under the Tuscan Sun?!?!  Tuscan food is explained to be “poor man” food.  That to me just means that its gonna be yummy like good southern or soul food.  You can get panzanella salad, antipasta, Tuscan style steaks and biscottis.  I am a huge fan of tomato soup and Tuscany has Pappa al Pomodoro which is tomato soup and bread with lots of basil

Pappa al Pomodoro
Pappa al Pomodoro

3.  Sicily – I’m not sure why but when I think of Sicily I think of old grandmas like Sophia from the Golden Girls.  And if old grandmas are making my food it just can’t taste bad.  You can get Caponata with eggplant and pine nuts.  Sea Urchin spaghetti or fried rice call Arancini stuffed with ragu.

arancini-sicily-for-web
Arancini

 4. Rome – This is one place I would like to go not just for the food but for the sites as well.  I would love to see the Vatican and the Coliseum, but I would like to do so while eating carbonara.  The thing I want most though is to eat a Roman style margarita pizza.

Margarita Pizza
Margarita Pizza

No matter where I go I will be eating well!!!

Leave a Reply

