Day 9: Favorite Hobby

There are lots of things that I really enjoy.  I like to sing, I like to paint, I like to do craft problems and I love to cook.  My absolute favorite thing in the whole world to do is DANCE.  I don’t mean dancing at the club kind of dancing, not that there is anything wrong with that, I mean technical, ballet positions, shuffle ball changes and everything else that comes with it.

I danced for 17 years between two studios.  The first studio I took with, Bunnys aka Fancy Footworks, established my love of dance.  I learned all the technical aspects and was challenged to try new things.  I took ballet, tap, jazz, lyrical and pointe while I was there.  I also made some really great friends that I still talk to 20 years later.  I also really treasure the bond I felt with my teachers.  Most of the studio was run by sisters and the studio itself was attached to their mom’s house.  Sweet Ms Teta along with Ms Bunny and Mauren came to visit me at my second job the other day and it genuinely warmed my heart to see them.  I know they will forever hold a special place in my heart.  The second studio I danced for was Jennifer’s Dancing Angels.  This was a completely different type of studio.  Ms Jennifer who is a wonderful person traded my dance teaching services for classes I could take.  I felt so fulfilled during my time there not only doing what I loved but helping to build self esteem and friendships amongst my students.

The second part of my dance journey has been working with the performing arts department at work.  I spent 3 years choreographing for the show choir.  I also choreographed for two musicals.  It was there that I realized how much I had truly learned all those years.  I also learned that I have a good instinct when it comes to music and dance.  I’ve had to take a little break from all the dancing which is a big bummer for me but i know it will forever be a part of my heart and my soul.

And just for fun some nice blast from the past…

130 131 134 138137   141 142139

Leave a Reply

