Day 15: Favorite Author

I know I have written more than once about my love of a good fluff book but my favorite favorite favorite author in the whole world is JANE AUSTEN.  I’m pretty positive I have read Pride and Prejudice at least 20 times.  I have all 6 novels on my book shelf.  I also have the complete works of Jane Austen that has not only those novels but poems and letters as well.  There are also movies for pretty much every book too which makes it even better.  If you have not read one of her books you need to!

Back to my love of Pride and Prejudice.  There is the Kiera Knightly version of the movie which is all well and good but my favorite rainy day thing to do is to pull out my 3 hour A & E version with Jennifer Ehle and Colin Firth.  Not having a love for Colin Firth is just not fathomable to me.  Especially when he is Mr. Darcy who is everyone’s perfect man and wearing a wet white shirt coming out of the lake.  I actually really like this version because it does not stray from the book.  It was almost verbatim actually.

4cf33208bd4510d9a8e046cfae45f299

The other book I really liked was Mansfield Park.  I read this book in college and it was a challenge to get through.  The story in the end was wonderful but 20 pages describing the shrubbery can be a little trying at times.  I also love this movie too.  I had some definite points were it strayed from the book but I still loved it.  The funny thing about this one is that no matter how many times I watch it I still hope for a different outcome.  I want Henry Crawford to know be a screw up so bad.  But he fails me every time.

47eab4cbd4456aece48f02dc502bcb40

oh Henry Crawford
oh Henry Crawford

Leave a Reply

