The Music of My Soul

I am a lover a music.  I do not discriminate.  I grew up listening and singing country music with my Uncle Rod.  I sang in the church choir all through high school and for lots of school events.  I enjoyed watching my friends band in high school play classic rock and alternative music.  I’ve studied listening to Bach and I’ve partied listening to 80s music.  I think the most underrated of all my musical loves though is Show tunes.

Did I lose ya? No longer wanna read this one?  Don’t give up on me just yet.  Broadway may not be for everyone…or so you think.  All the good stuff that you love about other genres of music can be found in a good show.  The story telling of a good country song.  The unique and complex melody of a soothing classical piece.  Or even just the right chorus to keep you dancing all night long.  Broadway may not be your thing but it certainly is mine.  Just for fun I challenge you to look up a song or a show.  If you don’t know where to start I have one great suggestion for you.  The show I have come to love almost above all other is called Memphis.

memphis-showcard

The 2010 Best Musical Tony winning show is set in the 1950s around a DJ named Huey Calhoun.  Huey is a white quirky fella who loves the soul music of Memphis.  He stumbles into a bar one night on Beale Street and hears the music of his soul coming from a beautiful singer name Felicia.  Huey, inspired and infatuated by her, vows to get race music on main stream radio.  This show is a beautiful interpretation of love, music and soul.  I think one of the coolest things about it is that music and lyrics were written by Bon Jovi keyboard player David Bryan.  I mean who does not love Bon Jovi music really!?!

31memphis-blog480

I’ve seen this show in person with the traveling tour at LSU and I’ve seen the recorded version on Netflix.  Professional video of a Broadway show is few and far between so this was certainly a gem.  You will laugh.  You will cry.  You will feel all the feels.  But most of all you will certainly appreciate the music.  The sweet beautiful music of Memphis.

Leave a Reply

