Mermaid Chronicles: Workday

Yesterday I woke up bright and early on a Saturday for Mermaid workday. After getting my new kitten the night before and being woken up early that morning as though he was an infant I was not all that excited about it.  But I had a great morning with my awesome cast.

We were given a tutorial about flying set pieces and how many tech crew members there are going to be. After all of that overwhelming information we were given our assignments. I was not up for handling power tools at such an early hour so I joined the paint crew. After painting my entire home I knew I didn’t want to be on the roller crew. So I got assigned to the boat from the Kiss the Girl scene. Which is my favorite part of the whole movie. I got to work with Prince Eric and Arista and a maid. It was the best lol. No really I had such a good time cutting up with everyone and getting paint everywhere.

The best part was when they turned the radio on and it was nothing but Beyoncé and show tunes and we all knew them. We all loved the same things. And in that moment I realized I have finally done it. I have finally figured out my place. These are my people. This is where I am supposed to be.  To quote Ariel “this is where I belong”. And I am so thankful for this opportunity.

Even now I am sitting in the Studio at the theater helping with auditions for Evangeline which is also making me super happy. I have always been the crazy person who loves this show that no one knows about. Now this whole space is full of people who live it and breathe and wrote it for goodness sake! I’m so very happy.

Leave a Reply

