Mermaid Chronicles: Tech and Opening

I haven’t been able to post lately because my life has pretty much been consumed by Mermaid.  This is not a bad thing….its just a tiring thing.  The show opened last week but before you can open there is tech.  Otherwise know as hell with better lighting.

So much crazy happens within a few days time.  Sets are painted and moved.  Some new prop is added everyday. For our preview night poor Ariel didn’t even have thingamabobs to sing about.  Costumes were changed and added to.  I personally went through a round of wig combinations before we figured out what worked.  Plus adding the insane technical elements to this show proved to be a bit overwhelming.  There are rows of bubbles flying in and out, giant boats moving backstage and people flying through the air you have to look out for.

As the week progressed we got to preview night with all of our friends and family.  There was so much love in the room.  Even if the show wasn’t perfect, for them it was.  I got really emotional at the end of the show.  It was a dream come true finally.  I had made it onto the stage at Theater Baton Rouge after years of trying.  Its not Broadway but for me its basically the same.  I have tried very hard to find my place in this world.  I thought I had found it and then got knocked down by life and had to try again.  Finding myself in this place with these people has been an experience that words just can not describe.  I have never been surrounded by so much love and support.  It really does something to be surrounded by positive energy.

So far we have done 6 shows, some harder to do than others but all amazing.  I’ve learned quickly that a good audience can mean the difference between an good night and a bad one.  I’ve also learned to get out of the tech crews way or they will run you over.  It also really stinks to not be able to talk at all backstage when all of the mics are hot.  All in all though I wouldn’t have it any other way.  The original run of the show is SOLD OUT.  There has also been an extension added that is selling pretty fast too!  I’m so happy to live the mermaid life and can’t wait to see what else is in store.

Leave a Reply

